Random header image... Refresh for more!

Cross Country 08-09 Results

Met League 14/02/09
European Trials 14/15/02/09

U15/17/20 AAA’s 14/15/02/09

Southern Vets XC Champs, Biggleswade, 31st January 2009 here

SEAA XC Champs, Hillingdon, 24th January 2009 Small (html) Large (PDF) HAC results here

Metropolitan League, Stevenage, 17th January 2009 here

Middlesex Champs, Trent Park, 10th January 2009 here

North of the Thames Champs, Kingsbury, 13th December 2008 here

Fraternity & Sorority Cups, Trent Park, 6th December 2008 here

Metropolitan League, Ruislip, 29th November 2008 here.

London Championships, Parliament Hill, 22nd November 2008 Senior Results Junior Results

North London Champs, Ruislip 15th November 2008

Liddiard Trophy 25th October 2008
It’s Liddi-hard to take as the men fail to retain the trophy but take second and its “Da Silva” for Emma too. results

Metropolitan League, Claybury 11th October 2008

The first Met League race of the season took place in unseasonably hot conditions on a fast, tough course at Claybury. There were several good performances but special congratulations must go to Stephen Crosbie, 1st in the under 13 boys race and Emma Grant, 2nd in the senior women’s race.

Full results are available here.

The under 13 boys team of Stephen Crosbie 1st, Jamie Hailstone 11th, Callum Gibbons 13th and Dominic Speight 14th, managed an excellent 2nd place behind Herts Phoenix. Almost as good was the performance of the under 13 girls team of Katherine Newberry 9th, Rebecca Miles 13th, Charlotte Cowper 23rd, and Carys Tetlaw 28th, who finished 3rd in their race.

In the under 17 mens race there was a superb team performance with all of the scorers finishing in the top 10 in what was a very high quality field. In fact the team of Carl Yates 6th, James Laing 7th, Matt Fayers 9th and Tadgh Grant 10th, only missed out on top spot by 5 points, the winners being a very strong team from Woodford Green & Essex Ladies.

The under 17 womens team finished 6th in their race. Georgina Wilcox 18th, and Heather Gibbons 20th, both did well as they are both under 15 and competing against older athletes.

In the senior womens race Emma Grant continued her rich vein of form finshing in a superb p.b. 2nd place. There was also a solid run by the returning Jill Christie in this race finishing in 48th place.

In a huge field of well over 300 runners in the senior mens race there were several good performances from the 26 Hillingdon men who crossed the line. Martin Bateman had another storming run to finish in a p.b. of 26th and Robert Thompson (U20) debuted at this level in 45th position. Well done also to Jonathon Castro finishing 47th and Dan Thompson who despite recent problems with a knee injury is hopefully now on the comeback trail. In the circumstances he managed a very good 73rd position and if he maintains his fitness will surely move up the placings as the season progresses.

Special mention must be made of a certain Andy Miles. Although now in his 50’s he is still a regular competitor for the club and almost invariably scores for the senior team. His character was epitomised by the fact that not only did he finish as 10th scorer for the team, but he did this after collapsing near the finish and then heroically pushing himself to the end of the race to get the points. An excellent example to us all.

St Albans Relays 20th September 2008
The senior men enjoyed their most successful start to the cross-country season for many years, finishing in third place at the St Albans Cross-Country Relays; an improvement of seven places on last year’s finishing position.


After Bedford and County and Highgate Harriers made fast starts, the A team moved through the field to secure third place behind Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers and Harrow AC with a consistent team performance that saw only 50 seconds seperate the fastest and slowest leg runners.

Elsewhere, there was another pleasing team performance by the B team, who finished second B team behind Harrow, while there were strong individual runs by Steve Hirons, competing in the C team and Emma Grant who ran the fastest time of all the competitiors in the women’s race.


A Team
Martin Bateman 14.57, Richard Mann 15.27, Matt Revier 15.47, Tony Grant 15.14,
Robert Thompson 15.22,  Jonathan Castro 15.34

B Team
Andy Miles 16.36, Richard Jenkin 17.05, Paul Williams 16.32, Paul Leppard 16.50,
Paul Wood 16.36, Brett Hutchinson 16.52

C Team
Rob Lithgow            19.21
Stevan Dokic           17.53
Steve Hirons            16.41
Kevin Waterman      18.12
John Doyle              20.43
Simon Claridge        17.41

D Team
Brian Leach             18.34
Richard Nash           18.20
John Bignell            19.50
John Myall               19.16
Mick Miller               21.40
Tony Shaw               21.24

E Team
Dave Martin             19.05
Martin Searle           20.04
Brian Feldman         22.06
Bill Harding              23.54
Ricky Johnson          26.56


Emma Grant             17.07
Gemma Weekes       20.32
Christine Heemskerk 25.13
Jo Miles                    25.40