Random header image... Refresh for more!

Met League, 12th November 2011, Stevenage results

Results from a well contested Stevenage fixture are here

Results from the Met League fixture at Stevenage show that the men narrowly finished 5th A team on the day behind Woodford Green, Serpentine, Highgate and just six points behind London Heathside in 4th place.  This has left the A team in fourth place in Division 1 after two fixtures. Thirty five senior and veteran Hillingdon AC men answered the call to compete and as a result, we had a stronger scoring 12 than the one we fielded at the first fixture at Woodford – unfortunately most of the other clubs also fielded stronger teams  and so we more or less finished in the same position overall.

Matt Fayers was first scorer for the club, finishing in 23rd place and whilst we were missing Paul Hull and Tony Grant due to injury, their absence was more than compensated for by the introduction of Robert Thompson, Dean Clark, Anupam Das and Matt Willis to the scoring 12. As a knock on effect, the B team was also stronger than the one we fielded at Woodford, finishing fifth in Division 3.

Emma Grant made a welcome return to cross country racing by leading home a full team of 6 women finishers to 5th place  in Division 2.

In the U17 men’s race, Joe Saissi was 8th followed closely by U15 Sam Lloyd in 10th spot. The “A” team were third on the day and also sit third in the table after 2 fixtures. In the corresponding female race U17 Rebecca Miles brought in the team with a 15th place finish. They came away as 6th best team and are 7th overall in the league table.

Our U13’s were conspicuous by their absense at Claybury in the first fixture but showed plenty of promise at Stevanage. The boys are now 7th overall and placed 3rd on the day with Brandon Filbey leading the team through the finish in 8th. With the girl’s it was an improvement but clearly there is more to come with only Hayley Philpott showing up to compete.

In the men’s HAC Met Points League, Matt Fayers was the winner at this fixture by being first scorer and finishing in a PB position. James Laing (pictured receiving his prize from Paul Leppard for the first fixture) leads overall.