Random header image... Refresh for more!

Met League Race 5, Alexandra Palace, 13 February 2016

Hillingdon AC’s senior men finished off the Metropolitan Cross Country League in fine style at the final fixture of the season in cold, windy and muddy conditions at Alexandra Palace with the A team finishing in fifth place in Division One and the B team finishing joint first with Trent Park in Division Three. This result means that the A team have finished fifth in Division One – their highest finish in the Met League since the 2011/2012 season whilst the B team have achieved their aim of promotion, finishing second overall in Division Three.

Abdi Nageeye was the club’s first scorer in 19th place with Rob Thompson (22nd), James Laing (24th), Mohamed Mohamed returning from injury (34th), Martin Bateman (40th), Ed Campbell (47th), Ed Dyer (87th), Andy Bryce (91st) and Dan Thompson (94th) all securing places in the top 100. Simon Connell (103rd), Liam Holbrook (118th) and Paul Leppard (141st) completed the scoring 12 for the A team.

Joel Pope had a good run to finish as first B team scorer in 150th place and the B team again packed well to finish their scoring 8 within the first 240 places with Dave Newman (183rd), Paul Hull (192nd), Simon Claridge (213th), Dave Smith (225th), Abdulqadir Sharifal (232nd), Mat Taylor (237th) and Steve Hirons (239th) making up the team.

In total, Hillingdon AC had 28 men competing at this fixture out of a total of 354 finishers.

A big thank you to everyone that competed for the Senior Men’s team in the Met League over the course of the season. Our best finish in the league for four years by our A team and promotion achieved for the B team is testament to the commitment and application shown by a large number of athletes who have regularly made the effort to compete for the club in these fixtures. Congratulations to everyone involved.

Full results may be found here.