Random header image... Refresh for more!

Middlesex Cross Country Championships, Wormwood Scrubs 05 January 2013

Hillingdon AC’s Senior Men’s team won the Middlesex Cross Country Championships for the first time since 1971 to get 2013 off to a fantastic start for the club.

Robert Thompson was first scorer, finishing second behind race winner Chris Smith of TVH and he was followed by James Laing (7th), Anupam Das (10th), Daniel Thompson (14th), Martin Bateman (18th) and Richard Mann (31st) as Hillingdon AC won the six to score competition with 82 points to Highgate Harriers 106 points with TVH in third with 143.

Such was the margin of victory that the next three scorers for the club – Ed Campbell (35th), James Manley (48th) or Tom Hall (53rd) could all have figured as the sixth scorer and the team would have still been crowned as County Champions.

Best result for the Hillingdon women at the Middlesex Cross Country Championships was Hannah Wells’s fourth place in the under-20s five-kilometre race, missing out on a medal by 15 seconds, and Heather Gibbons’s ninth place. Reports Lesley Conway

The Hillingdon senior women could not match the success of the men due to low numbers and overall strength, but nonetheless entered one four-to-score team for their 8 kilometre race, and finished up tenth, led by Beth Young (22nd), followed by Lesley Conway (60th), Lucy Duncan (80th) and Angela Duncan (93rd). Unsurprisingly, Highgate emerged the winners with high placings (2nd,3rd,5th,16th) with London Heathside (4th, 6th, 9th, 19th) the runners-up by 12 points.

Full results may be found here.

Gerry Archer looked through his archives and has provided some information from 1971.
The venue was Trent Park and the race was held over three laps of frozen, snow covered countryside.
Team result
1. Hillingdon                74 pts
2. TVH                        84
3. Ealing & Southall 112
1. Mal. Thomas  (TVH)        41.00
2. P.J.Fagan     (E&S)        41.13
3  H.Starkey    (Shafts)       41.20.
4. Tony Moore  (Hill)           41.40
Other Hillingdon scorers – 8. Stu. Buchanan.  12. Geoff Hallet  16. Maurice Wands.  17. Pete Milsom.  18. Pete Griffiths