Random header image... Refresh for more!

Pat Furey 5 mile race walk. 31st March 2012

Hillingdon’s team earn Bronze.

Taken from the official report. Neringe Aidietyte (Lithuainia) who had recently attained an Olympic qualifying time totally dominated the third race of the Enfield RW League 2012 series. Pat Furey the event sponsor was on hand to start the race and was assisted at the presentation by EHAC chairman John Mercer.

Fransisco Reis retained the trophy he won last year and among a number of interesting duels that took place was the struggle for second place. Fabian Deuter of Hillingdon AC registering his best time since he resumed race walking last year.

A number of other walkers set pb’s but catching the eye was David Crane who as a youth was one of the county’s top performers. Out of the sport for some years he turned out in the January Five at Donkey Lane, but was forced to retire with an injury. He had obviously been putting some work in and on this occasion bettered ten minute mile pace.

Peter Ryan was the first Centurion home in his first League appearance since last year’s Pat Furey Five. Ilford easily won the team race, but it was a close call for third between Hillingdon and Belgrave.

Hillingdon Individual results

Fabian Deuter – 2nd man and 3rd overall in 40.09
Andy Cox – 15th in 47.32
Ken Bobbett – 18th in 48.12
Jo Miles – 30th in 53.49

Full results here.